GermanEnglish

Chronicle of Abtenau

A place with character

The history of Abtenau begins with the settlement by the Bavarians in the 6th century AD and the Christianization by St. Rupert at 700.
The name Abtenau is noted for the first time in a deed of donation from 1124, which is kept in the archives of the St. Peter monastery (Salzburg); Archbishop Konrad 1 gave the monastery some lands that also included the Lammertal. The monastery of St. Peter still owns forest and agricultural areas in the Lammertal today.
Peter drove the settlement of the Abtenau basin forward since the 12th century. The first Abtenau church was built in the second half of the 12th century by Archbishop Konrad 3.
During the feudal period of the 14th and 15th centuries, the Lammertal was already well-ordered with around 200 inhabitants; Land judges and land judges in Abtenau have been proven since 1332.
The Lammertal does not seem to have been involved in the peasant uprisings of 1462, and it was spared the subsequent peasant wars.

In 1507 Abtenau, now a small rural center in the Lammertal around the mother parish, was elevated to market status by Leonhardt von Keutschach, Archbishop of Salzburg, and thus received market rights and civil liberties such as buying, selling, trade and commerce as well as the right to annually to hold a fair on Maximilianstag.

several beer and wine bars, which were opposite the church district. This division still exists today. On one side of the market square are the church, rectory and cemetery; There are five inns across the street.
The school system in Abtenau began in 1600 and, like everywhere else, had its origins in reading the Holy Scriptures and - after the Council of Trent - the catechism.
On August 1, 1850, a postal expedition with driving mail was set up in Abtenau
After the Second World War, the development of tourism began with the so-called summer resort; with the further development of alpine skiing, the winter season later also gained in importance. Today Abtenau is the largest town in the Lammertal with around 6000 inhabitants. It has retained its rural and down-to-earth character, which is precisely why it is popular with holidaymakers.

Further information ...

Slumber atlas

[/db_pb_slide]
[/db_pb_slide]
[/db_pb_slide]
[/db_pb_slide]
[/db_pb_slide]

Chronik von Abtenau

Die Geschichte Abtenaus beginnt mit der Besiedelung durch die Bajuwaren im 6. Jahrhundert n. Chr. und der Christianisierung durch den hl. Rupert um 700.
Der Name Abtenau ist erstmals in einer im Archiv des Stiftes St. Peter (Salzburg) aufbewahrten Schenkungsurkunde aus dem Jahr 1124 vermerkt; Erzbischof Konrad 1 schenkte damals dem Stift einige Ländereien, die auch das Lammertal beinhalteten. Noch heute besitzt das Kloster St. Peter Wald- und Landwirtschaftsgebiete im Lammertal.
Seit dem 12. Jahrhundert trieb St.Peter die Besiedlung des Abtenauer Beckens voran. Die erste Abtenauer Kirche wurde in der zweiten Hälfte des 12. Jahrhunderts durch Erzbischof Konrad 3 erbaut.
Während der Feudalzeit des 14. und 15. Jahrhunderts war das Lammertal mit ca. 200 Einwohnern schon wohlgeordnet; bereits seit 1332 lassen sich Land- und Urbarrichter in Abtenau nachweisen.
An den Bauernaufständen von 1462 scheint das Lammertal nicht beteiligt gewesen zu sein, und es blieb auch von den darauf folgenden Bauernkriegen verschont.

1507 wurde Abtenau, nun schon ein kleiner um die Mutterpfarre gelegener ländlicher Mittelpunkt im Lammertal, von Leonhardt von Keutschach, Erzbischof von Salzburg, zum Markt erhoben und erhielt damit die Marktrechte und bürgerlichen Freiheiten wie Kauf, Verkauf, Handel und Gewerbe sowie das Recht, alljährlich am Maximilianstag einen Jahrmarkt abhalten zu dürfen.

Ein Ort mit Charakter

Unter den Gewerbebetrieben waren schon damals mehrere Bier- und Weinschenken, die gegenüber dem Kirchenbezirk lagen. Diese Aufteilung ist noch heute vorhanden. An der einen Seite des Marktplatzes liegen Kirche, Pfarrhof und Friedhof; schräg gegenüber befinden sich fünf Gasthäuser.
Der Beginn des Schulwesens in Abtenau fällt in das Jahr 1600 und hatte seinen Ursprung, wie überall anders auch, im Lesen der Heiligen Schrift und – nach dem Konzil von Trient – des Katechismus.
Am 1. August 1850 wurde in Abtenau eine Postexpedition mit Fahrpost errichtet
Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg begann zunächst mit der sogenannten Sommerfrische die Entwicklung des Fremdenverkehrs; mit der Weiterentwicklung des Alpinskilaufs gewann später auch die Wintersaison an Bedeutung. Heute ist Abtenau mit ca. 6000 Einwohnern der größte Ort des Lammertals. Es hat seinen bäuerlichen und bodenständigen Charakter bewahrt und ist gerade deshalb bei Feriengästen beliebt.

chronik-abtenau

Facebook

Instagram Feed

Schlummer Atlas

Hotel Post Newsletter

Tourismusverband Abtenau
Da gehts mir gut ...
Salzburger Land
Salzburger Almsommer
Dachstein West